National Forest Lands (Archives, 2006-2019)

Summary: National Forest lands by state

Need the entire database?
1 time download

This database contains National Forest lands by state and forest lands as a share of total state land areas.  Land area is shown in acres. There are no national forest lands in Delaware, the District of Columbia, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, or Rhode Island.


National Forest system lands consists of federally owned units of forest, range, and related land consisting of national forests, purchase units, national grasslands, land utilization project areas, experimental forest areas, experimental range areas, designated experimental areas, other land areas; water areas, and interests in lands that are administered by USDA Forest Service or designated for administration through the Forest Service.  Other lands are lands within the unit boundaries in private, state, county, and municipal ownership and the federal lands over which the Forest Service has no jurisdiction.  This also includes lands offered to the United States and approved for acquisition and subsequent Forest Service administration, but to which title has not yet been accepted by the United States.  Total state land areais based on information from the U.S. Bureau of the Census.

Geographic Coverage: U.S., States

Periodicity: Biennially

Series Begins/Ends: 2006, 2010 - 2019

Source (APA): RAND State Statistics. (2020, December 9). National Forest Lands (Archives, 2006-2019).,-2006-2019).html
Copy source Change source Set APA as default format

Derived From: U.S. Forest Service

Updated:  Dec. 09, 2020 Next update: None

Please enter a state.    All

Please choose a category.    All     CSV

Please choose a time period.

Free users may access only the most recent year's data.